Introduction of The Standard For Air Filtration ISO 16890-1

ISO 16890-1:2016

Key Points
  • Exits in parallel with EN779, until June 30, 2018
  • Shifts the focus on filtration performance to the classes of particulate matter size (PM)
  • Standard filter efficiency will be determined based on particulate matter size classes PM1, PM2.5 and PM10
  • A much more realistic test criteria than the theoretical EN779:2012
  • Same as the evaluation parameters by the WHO (World Health Organization) and other authorities
  • It will be easier for users to select the right air filter based on their requirements
The Benefits

1. One global international standard.

2.The ISO16890 records their performances at a particle spectrum of 0.3 up to 10 microns (versus the EN779 test which qualified fine filter performance at 0.4 microns

3. Fractional efficiancies of the filterprior to and after IPA diacharge of any eleotrostatic properties can be seen.

4. Filters can be chosen for their specific performance related to the need of the application.

ISO16890 standard divides air filters into four groups.


ePM1, min ≥ 50%
(viruses, nanoparticles, exhaust gasses)

ISO ePM2.5

ePM2.5, min ≥ 50%
(bacteria, fungal and mold spores, pollen, toner dust)


ePM10 ≥ 50%
(pollen, desert dust)

ISO coarse

ePM10 ≤ 50%
(sand, hair)

A prerequisite or each group is that a filter captures at least 50% of the appropriate particle size range If a filter, for example, capture more than 50% of PM1 particles it will be grouped as an ISO e PM1 filter The respective efficiency is then reported, rounded n5% increments.

A simple translation table between EN779 : 2012 and ISO 16890


Knowledge Center